trustedkrot.blogg.se

How do i schedule microsoft synctoy
How do i schedule microsoft synctoy




how do i schedule microsoft synctoy
  1. How do i schedule microsoft synctoy how to#
  2. How do i schedule microsoft synctoy code#

Renames and deletes on the left are repeated on the right." It doesn't say anything about looking at what is missing from the RH side. New and updated files are copied left to right. The Echo action is described as: "The echo action will make copies of files that are new and changed on the left to the right.

how do i schedule microsoft synctoy

When I looked at my SyncToy settings, I was using the Echo action. The results were the same - the deleted file on the RH side was not replaced. I tried it using the SyncToyExec wrapper and using the SyncToy UI. I reproduced the same behavior as you described. I think the behavior that you are seeing is the way that SyncToy works. I just copy SyncToyExec.exe into the same folder used by SyncToy.exe and then I set up a task in Scheduled Tasks to run every night. I have been using SyncToyExec to run scheduled backups of my files. New .Binary.BinaryFormatter() Ĭonsole.WriteLine( " SyncToy Configuration File = % Completed", PercentComplete) SyncToy.SyncEngineConfig SEConfig = null ĪrrayList EngineConfigs = new ArrayList()

how do i schedule microsoft synctoy

How do i schedule microsoft synctoy code#

This is accomplished in the Main program:Ĭopy Code public void SyncFolderPairs( string ConfigFileName) Typically, this path will look like: C:\Documents and Settings\\My Documents\SyncToyData\SyncToyDirPairs.bin. This code was inspired by and based on the work of Domenic in his article " Quietly run Microsoft's SyncToy." Being a console application, the path to the SyncToy configuration file is passed in as a command line argument. The solution was to keep reading the configuration file stream to obtain all of the configured folder pairs. After groping around in SyncToy.exe using ILDASM, I noticed that there was a call that used an array list of "Engines." So, now I knew that different instances of the engine needed to be created and configured with the needed folder pair data. After inspecting the SyncToyEngine in the object browser, I could find no indication of a way to iterate through the set of folder pairs in the configuration file. On closer inspection, however, I noticed that only the first folder pair in my configuration was being used. This is what is needed to operate the SyncToy engine.

How do i schedule microsoft synctoy how to#

Backgroundĭomenic demonstrated how to read the SyncToy configuration file, instantiate the SyncEngine and call the Preview and Sync methods. This solved the problem of running SyncToy unattended. The article " Quietly run Microsoft's SyncToy" by Domenic demonstrated how to call the SyncToyEngine.dll from your own code. I was therefore pleasantly surprised to find a recent article posted on CodeProject that solved this problem. This limitation was bothersome, so I put that idea aside, hoping that one day Microsoft would release an updated version that supported unattended execution. When I set up a scheduled task to run my SyncToy configuration as a nightly, unattended job, it failed because it was not able to interact with the desktop. SyncToy has a very nice GUI and is intended to be run interactively. It is very useful for maintaining a backup of your critical files. Microsoft's SyncToy is a quality tool that allows you to synchronize a set of directory pairs.






How do i schedule microsoft synctoy